Onyx Yoga Studio 

 

45 Mountain Blvd

 

Warren, NJ 07059

 

Ashtanga Yoga Flow


This class is taught by:

Jeff Lehrer

We all come to the mat for different reasons. Jeff’s entry into the practice of yoga came from a place of deep commitment for change. Yoga has indeed changed everything for him; from what he puts into his body to sustain him, to his business and personal relationships. He now looks at life as having limitless possibilities rather than physical and spiritual limitations; and he is in a place of balance, not discontent.

Jeff’s desire is to inspire you through the life lessons he has learned. His hope is when you come to his class, for whatever reason, you can become the best you can be, both on and off the mat.

Jeff obtained his 200 hour teaching certification in 2013 from The Yoga and Healing Center under the direction of Wendy Gross-Pinto. Jeff then received his 100 hour advanced yoga teacher training certification in 2015 from Shannon Elliott, the owner and director of Onyx Yoga Studio. He has taught a variety of yoga styles and levels, including beginner’s classes to Level 2/3 vinyasa flows. His passion, however, is an Ashtanga-led class, having been trained in this style from teachers such as Ross Marshall, David Swenson and Beryl Bender.

Come and let Jeff inspire you.

This class will focus on the "primary series", a series of standing, seated and finishing postures done at a more rigorous pace than a vinyasa class. The primary series postures are the same each practice. Ashtanga yoga is also called the Tristana practice which separates it from other forms of yoga in the following ways: (1) the "drishti" gaze is consistent throughout with the eyes always open; (2) the asanas or postures are quite different than what you may be used to but we practice, in general, with 5 consistent breaths for each posture, and (3) the use of the "Ujayi breath" is essential to a consistent practice. It is a disciplined form of yoga where students practice in synchronicity and maintain extraordinary focus. This practice will build strength and flexibility. Ashtanga is a foundational practice which demands deep concentration while at the same time providing practicioners with a powerful inward journey. Come and be inspired!

Upcoming classes:

  • Sun Jan 27 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun Feb 03 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun Feb 10 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun Feb 17 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun Feb 24 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun Mar 03 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun Mar 10 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun Mar 17 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun Mar 24 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun Mar 31 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun Apr 07 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun Apr 14 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun Apr 21 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun Apr 28 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun May 05 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun May 12 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer
  • Sun May 19 7:45 am - 9:00 am with Jeff Lehrer