Onyx Yoga Studio 

 

45 Mountain Blvd

 

Warren, NJ 07059

 

Yin Yoga by Candlelight


This class is taught by:

Emily Katz

Emily Katz is dedicated to helping her clients students find balance in all aspects of their lives- emotional, spiritual, mental, and physical.
Living a fast-paced life moving from one activity to another can leave a person stressed and out of balance. Emily’s goal is to learn (and teach) simple tools which help find balance and develop healthy habits. Activities that will help students of all ages find true harmony in all aspects of their lives.

In 2012, while in her senior year at Miami University a life changing event occurred when Emily contracted chronic Lyme disease. The disease not only caused physical and mental discomfort and pain, it also resulted in Emily falling behind in her schoolwork and losing connection with close friends. During this time her father observed that traditional western medicine was not entirely working for Emily and thought that yoga may help alleviate some of the symptoms. Through her teachers teaching’s Emily developed a holistic approach to treating her sickness by incorporating modern medicine, traditional yoga therapeutic remedies and plant-based alternative medicines. Because of this approach to health and wellness Emily no longer has the symptomatic suffering of Lyme disease.

Emily is now vinyasa and yin yoga teacher, kid’s yoga teacher, and journeying towards her Doctorate of Physical Therapy. Emily’s goal is to incorporate all aspects of holistic living and encouraging students to become steadfast in their own practices while integrating them into their day-to-day lives.

Yin Yoga is a simple, quiet, in-drawn practice that uses steady, long-held postures that benefit your “yin,” connective tissues, such as the fascia, ligaments, tendons, joints, and bones. Poses are held 3 to 5 minutes each with all muscles relaxed and released.
 
Yin Yoga is a more meditative approach to yoga, that aims at cultivating awareness of inner silence. It can be practiced by everybody and will complement an already active life or help those who feel distracted by “mind chatter”.

This practice calms the mind and nervous system, reduces stress and anxiety, increases circulation, improves flexibility and joint mobility, balances the internal organs and improves the flow of chi or prana through meridian stimulation.


Upcoming classes:

  • Sun Dec 16 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Dec 23 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Dec 30 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Jan 06 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Jan 13 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Jan 20 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Jan 27 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Feb 03 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Feb 10 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Feb 17 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Feb 24 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Mar 03 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Mar 10 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Mar 17 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Mar 24 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Mar 31 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Apr 07 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz
  • Sun Apr 14 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Emily Katz